News of the San Gabriel Valley since 1966.

East Defeats West, 24-13, in Hall of Fame Game

Photo by Joe Torosian

Arroyo’s Nathan Coto had a nice game for the West.

by Sports Staff Writer

West Covina

The 35th Annual East-West Hall of Fame football game was played last Friday night at West Covina High School and for the seventh straight year the East won 24-13.
With the 605 Freeway serving as the dividing line, much of the local talent played on the West side of the field. Among them were Arroyo quarterback Nathan Coto and Gabrielino wide receiver Jeremy Franco. The two Mission Valley League rivals connected midway through the third quarter on a 62-yard bomb that put the West squad up briefly 13-10.
East, however, closed the game out with a 20-yard touchdown pass from La Serna’s Frankie Palmer to Chino’s Malik Demby late in the third and a six-yard touchdown romp in the fourth by Bonita’s Jake Payton.
Coto’s numbers at the end were four of five passes complete for 137 yards and a touchdown.
Locals participating:
West: Joseph Lopez (El Monte), Victor Nureldeen (Duarte), Sam Edwards (Duarte), DeShawn Potts (Monrovia), Nathan Coto (Arcadia), Kevin Loung (Arcadia), Stephen Cansino (Rosemead), Alejandro Vega (Monrovia), Jose Moreno (Mt. View), Jesus Calvillo (Arroyo), Mario Burciaga (South El Monte), Nick Leon (Duarte), Chris Montoya (Gabrielino), Nate Tayco (Rio Hondo Prep), Steven Ruvalcaba (Rosemead), Miguel Hernandez (South El Monte), Richard Lopez (South El Monte), Avonte Moore (Monrovia), Mark Rangel (Arroyo), Joe Pinon (Arroyo), Josh Cano (Monrovia), Jake Fernthiel (Temple City), Lorenzo Rojas (Duarte), Jeremy Franco (Gabrielino), Mark Pachorek (Arcadia). East: Gavin Hrey (La Puente)

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.