News of the San Gabriel Valley since 1966.

Around Town

By Mavis Hansen

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

The 57th Annual Convention of the General Federation, CFWC, San Gabriel Valley District of Women’s Clubs was held on April 12 – 13, 2013 at the Radisson Ontario Airport Hotel.  Local clubs within the San Gabriel Valley District that were represented were:  Baldwin Park W.C, Charter Oak W.C, Covina W.C, Diamond Bar W.C, Duarte W.C, GFWC Federated East Valley W.C,  El Monte W.C.;  Hacienda Heights W.C.;  La Crescenta W.C.;  La Puente W.C.;  Montebello W.C.;  Monterey Park W.C.; Pasadena W.C.;  Pio Pico W.C.;  Sierra Madre W.C.;  South Pasadena W.C.;  Walnut W.C.;  West Covina W.C. and three affiliate clubs:  Alumnae, Parliamentary and Past Presidents.

Opening ceremonies began with the Presentation of Colors conducted by the Monrovia-Arcadia VFW Post 2070, Pledge of Allegiance was lead by Public Issues Chairman Sandra Taylor, “God Bless America” was sung by vocalist Zona Wilt and the Inspiration was given by Alice Slaughter, CFWC Community Improvement Program Contest Chairman.  Convention Chairman Patsy Wilson welcomed extended greetings to the San Gabriel Valley District of Women’s Clubs. Greetings were extended by the Honorable Mayor of the City of Ontario, Paul S. Leon, who also presented a Certificate of commendation for commitment to community improvement by volunteerism for more than a hundred years of service.

First Timers to the convention were given a special recognition and reports were then given by the Executive Officers:  President Mavis Hansen, First Vice President Paulette Wright Pope, Second Vice President Rosemary Morabito, Third Vice President Patsy Wilson, Recording Secretary Mary Jo Kolakoski, Corresponding Secretary Dixie Coutant, Financial Secretary Diana Wood, Treasurer Cheryl Linnborn and Parliamentarian Margery Spillman.

The Meal Blessings for both lunch and dinner for all four sessions were given by the Inspirational Values Chairman Shirley Lane.  Following lunch the Processional of the Clubwomen of the year, which was conducted by Chairman Pat Borchard.  Nominees were:  Trudy Garnier, Baldwin Park W.C, Mary Matson, GFWC Federated East Valley W.C, Jane Myring, El Monte W.C, Gayle Lewis, Hacienda Height W.C, Mary Dea McCrory, La Crescenta W.C, Janell Barr, La Puente W.C, Ruth Wheeler, Montebello W.C, Celia Ponce, Monterey Park W.C, Priscilla Rodriguez, Pio Pico W.C, Karlene Englert, Sierra Madre W.C, Barbara Hahn, Walnut Valley W.C. and Patti Hennings, West Covina W.C.   The District Winner was Kimberly Plater of the Covina W.C.

The Keynote Speaker for the afternoon was Ms. Pam Ament, California Federation of Women’s Clubs Area C Vice President.  Ms. Ament gave a very enlighting and humorous talk on being either a Super Woman or a Wonder Woman.

The evening session honored the District Leads Chairman, Alice Slaughter and Club Presidents:  Diana Asmundson, Baldwin Park W.C, Gloria Edgar for Jane Bock, Charter Oak W.C, Shirley Lane, Covina W.C, Rosette Clippinger, Diamond Bar W.C, Pat Borchard, GFWC Federated East Valley W.C, Lorene Gutierrez, El Monte W.C, Scarlet Treu, Hacienda Heights W.C, Carol Huntwork, La Crescenta W.C, Janell Barr, La Puente W.C, Anita Dean and Ruth Wheeler, Montebello W.C, Barbara Rush, Monterey Park W.C, Denise Bressler for President Cynthia Rosedale, Pasadena W.C.; Alicia Lopez, Pio Pico W.C.; Mary Carney, Sierra Madre W.C.; Sally Earheart for President Beverly Passon, South Pasadena W.C.; Terry Lee Perkins, Walnut Valley W.C.; Sandra Taylor, West Covina W.C.;  and the affiliates:  Alumnae, Esthela Torres DeSiegrist, Parliamentary, Mary Jo Kolakoski and Past Presidents, Paulette Meadows.

See you soon, somewhere AROUND TOWN

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.


News of the San Gabriel Valley since 1966.
Around Town